Staff’s Care And Compassion Prompt Therapy Lodger’s Letter

MediLodge of Howell

MediLodge of Howell

My wife and I are so glad that we chose MediLodge of Howell for my rehabilitation stay.  When you stopped by my room at St. Joseph’s Mercy Hospital and introduced yourself and informed us about MediLodge it meant a lot to us and when my son and his wife dropped by for a visit, they told us that it was the place to go and they were so right.

I can honestly say that I didn’t meet any member of your fine staff that wasn’t helpful, friendly and happy to help you in any way they could.

There are times in life when the simple words “Thank You” do not express the gratitude one is feeling inside and this is certainly true when it come to saying Thank You to MediLodge.  You have a top notch organization staying on top of our stay from start to finish.  I hesitated mentioning specific names because you always fear that you will omit someone, however, I feel it necessary to express our appreciation to some very fine members of your staff.  Should I not be able to remember all of the names, please know that their acts of kindness and compassion did not go unnoticed or were not very much appreciated.

The nursing staff was excellent – they were caring, personable and always willing to offer their assistance to ensure that you were doing okay and checking to see if you needed anything.  I found Jeannine to be a very delightful and efficient person.  Amy was super and helped make my stay a wonderful experience.  One of the housekeepers – Mary –  always checked in on me and greeted me each morning with a “Good Morning” and a smile.  She was a very pleasant person.  Another Nurse (Matt) was very efficient and right on the ball.

One of the receptionists, Karen, was one of the nicest people I’ve met.  She was caring, helpful and always had a beautiful smile and a great sense of humor.  Two other receptionists that were on duty on Monday, May 20th came to my aid when I was trying to carry my coffee to the lobby area via my wheelchair and just when I thought I was home free, the coffee flipped upside down on the floor.  The receptionist called housekeeping immediately and the other receptionist went to the Java Lounge and got me another cup of coffee.  I was grateful to them both.

During the evening –  I enjoyed a trio of staff members that had upbeat attitudes and were very attentive and helpful.  Lisa, Andrea and Michael were excellent.  I can’t thank them enough for their assistance and compassion.

During the night, Bernice was especially caring.  Some nights I forgot to request a blanket or sheet only to wake up and discover that Bernice had covered me up.  She always greeted me with a smile and if she noticed I was awake in the middle of the night would come in and ask if I needed anything and was doing okay.  She also (as busy as she was) would somehow bring me back a cup of coffee which certainly started my day off well.

All of the nursing staff, the aides, housekeepers, receptionists all did an excellent job and I am very grateful to them all.

MediLodge of Howell

MediLodge of Howell staff encourage Lodgers during the MediLodge Senior Olympics

I was also very happy with  the Physical and Occupational Therapists that helped me every day to gain strength and balance.  What a wonderful group of individuals and professionals.  Going to therapy was an eye opener for me – to witness first hand so many people needing assistance in recovering from a variety of ailments.  I watched as the therapists helped them and I could see the hope in the faces of their patients when they were able to complete a task they were given.  What a gift and special care provided by your staff – it encouraged my heart to see the help and care these special caring people gave to those in need.  God Bless each one of them.

One thing I also appreciated was how the therapist’s lighthearted approach – keeping things positive.

I was blessed to have several therapists that helped me.  First there was Big Tim (who explained all my exercises so I knew why I needed them and how they would help my rehabilitation).  Secondly, my primary Physical Therapist also named Tim.  He worked with me each day and helped me in so many ways to strengthen my good leg and keep both legs flexible.  He helped me learn how to get in and out of my car, and also how to pull myself up from the floor.  I will always be thankful for his able assistance and knowledge.  Finally, my occupational therapist (Sheryl) who helped me work on my upper body strength and balance.  this was an area that I certainly needed therapy and she was patient and knew what I needed.  She even had me do some dishes which I’m glad to report worked our very well and now my wife knows I can do dishes!

Normally, I would apologize for such a lengthy letter, but I just felt I had to express how grateful and appreciative both my wife and I are for your great team and that we are so glad that we chose MediLodge of Howell.  I promised some of the staff members that once I had my Prosthesis I would stop by to visit and be able to walk in.  I am looking forward to that!

Thanks again for all your help, care and compassion

Gary and Flo Denny

May 12, 2013

.

Visit the MediLodge website

Find MediLodge on facebook

Watch the MediLoge Channel on YouTube

.

 

Leave a Reply

